Heusler Alloys for Spintronic Devices

Heuslers Home Location Lodging Register Program Sponsors

"Heusler Alloys for Spintronic Devices" will begin the morning of Thursday, July 30th and at 3:45pm CT on Friday the 31st. A dinner for workshop participants will be held on Thursday evening. Plenary talks will be 40 minutes with 5 minutes for questions, and invited talks will be 30 with 5 minutes for questions and

If you would like to download a .pdf copy of the workshop program with talk abstracts, you can do so here.

Thursday, July 30
7:45 AM
Check in. Light breakfast provided.
8:30 AM
Jian-Ping Wang, University of Minnesota and Director of C-SPIN
Welcoming Remarks
8:40 AM
Gilroy Vandentop, Director STARnet Program
Welcoming Remarks

8:45 AM
Avram Bar-Cohen, DARPA
Welcoming Remarks

8:50 AM
Plenary Talk
Ian Young, Intel
Spintronic Logic and Memory Devices: Prospects and Challenges
9:40 AM
William H. Butler, University of Alabama
Heusler Alloys
10:15 AM
10:45 AM
Claudia Felser, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids
Magnetism in Mn2-Heusler Compounds
11:20 AM
Kanta Ono, High Energy Accelerator Research Organization
X-Ray and Neutron Analysis of Heusler Alloys
11:55 AM
Günter Reiss, Bielefeld University
Heusler Compounds in Magnetic Tunnel Junctions

12:30 PM
2:00 PM
Gautam Shine, Stanford University
Modeling Transport in Heusler-based Spin Devices

2:35 PM
Koki Takanashi, Tohoku University
CPP-GMR and Related Phenomena in Half-Metallic Heusler Alloy Systems

3:10 PM
Oleg Mryasov, Western Digital
Electronic Structure, Spin Transport, and Magnetic Anisotropy in Selected Cubic Heusler, Tetragonal, and Hexagonal Heusler-like Alloys
3:45 PM
4:15 PM
Matthew Carey, Spin Transfer Technologies
Heusler Compounds for CPP-GMR Heads and MRAM
4:50 PM
Kazuhiro Hono, National Institute for Materials Science
Heusler-Alloy-Based Magnetoresistive Devices with High MR Outputs

5:25 PM
6:30 PM
7:30 PM
Program of recognition for William H. Butler
Friday, July 31
8:00 AM
8:30 AM
Chris Palmstrøm, University of California, Santa Barbara
Heusler Compound/III-V Semiconductor Heterostructures
9:05 AM
Hiroaki Sukegawa, National Institute for Materials Science
Interface-induced perpendicular magnetic anisotropy and giant tunnel magnetoresistance in Co2FeAl Heusler alloy based heterostructures

9:40 AM
Paul Crowell, University of Minnesota
Spin Transport in Epitaxial Heusler Alloy/III-V Semiconductor Heterostructures

10:15 AM
Martin Jourdan, Mainz University
100% Spin Polarized Surface Resonance in the Half Metallic Heusler Compound Co2MnSi

10:50 AM
11:20 AM
Richard James, University of Minnesota
Transformational Multiferroic Heusler Alloys and Energy Conversion

11:55 AM
Chris Leighton, University of Minnesota
Magnetic phase competition in off-stoichiometric Heusler alloys: Ni50-xCoxMn25+ySn25-y

12:30 PM
Atsufumi Hirohata, University of York
Heusler Alloy Films for Spintronic Devices

1:05 PM
Paul Crowell, University of Minnesota and C-SPIN Co-Director
Closing Remarks
1:10 PM
END OF WORKSHOP. Thank you for your participation!
* Updated 7/29/2015

Questions regarding the workshop can be directed to the workshop coordinators at heusler (AT) umn.edu.